Waveform 045: Dyspal

Following hot on the heels of their Broken Lullaby EP over at Skryptöm, fledgling French act, Dyspal, contribute the 45th edition of our exclusive mix series. The Waveform Transmitter’s Ste Knight presents a thorough techno workout.

Those of you who have been following The Waveform since we started back in 2017, will know that we have a bit of a soft spot for the old techno françaiseSkryptöm is a label synonymous with the French techno sound, and artists who are reared in Antoine Husson‘s stable find that they’ve joined a team of thoroughbreds that are ready to have you kicking like a mule the second that needle hits the groove.

Dyspal are the latest foals to join the fray, and we’re glad to say that Antoine‘s shrewd ear for a killer sound has worked wonders once again. The duo, who hail from Toulouse, fit perfectly into the Skryptöm steez, with their ability to manipulate textures being showcased over four original tracks on their Broken Lullaby release; the 39th for the label and Dyspal‘s debut record.

The record opens up with the panic-alarm sounds of Wrong Treatment. Sirens wail throughout the track which builds up to an exhilarating break at the two-minute mark. This ushers in a sepulchral kick pattern that carries the shrill top-end perfectly. A strong, intense start that sets the bar high for the rest of the record.

Next up we have the original mix of Dyspal‘s title track, Broken Lullaby. Given that we love a breakbeat or two here at The Waveform Transmitter, it should come as little surprise to you that this was our favourite track on the album. The skittering drum pattern underpins a menacing low-end bassline that growls in the distance. The lilting synths that segue in those string pads border on heavenly, but it is the string pads themselves that take centre stage, mutating into a gritty synth sound that is punctuated by the hornet-sting hats and hissing cymbals.

Broken Lullaby is treated to two separate remixes on the EP. The first is by Spanish techno bod, P.E.A.R.L. He eschews the breakbeats of the original in favour of a more four-to-the-floor tack. The darkness of the original is retained, making this perfect warehouse techno fodder, primed for that sweaty, dark session.

The second of the remixes is proffered by French artiste, Shekon. His remix gives the original a heavy dose of the dubs, invoking the spirit of Basic Channel and labels like Iceland’s Thule Records. The result is a hyper-dreamy affair that is high on the hypnotics and which makes excellent use of haunting, high-pitched string additions to add a lilting flavour to the track. The breakdown that leads up the the final third of the track effervesces and overflows as the break takes hold to see us into the next original production.

Forsaken is the penultimate track on the album. It progresses naturally from Shekon‘s mix; the track features droplet sounds that evoke Jovian imagery and follow the fizzing final third of the previous track perfectly. It is easy to imagine the gas giant raining down huge sulphuric drops of acid rain, which cauterise the bottom end as they splash down upon it.

The final production is Grave – a suitable nomenclature for the last track of an EP. However, the track is all but dead, as it’s quivering choral pads loom like a wraith above the track’s other elements. Nightmarish synth stabs rise up through the soil, poised to haunt the nearest listener and the treated stabs at the end of the track herald in the conclusion of the EP. With that, we reach the finale and close our eyes for the last time via a jarring, lone cry from the synth.

This is a strong start for the Dyspal duo, it was lauded by Laurent Garnier FF, and we wait with baited breath for their next release. You can buy Broken Lullaby, here. In the meantime, we suggest you take a listen to the pair’s awesome contribution to our Waveform Mix Series, which kicks off with Voidloss‘ stunning Please Show Me the Beauty before thrusting us into bludgeoning techno territory. Tracklist below.

Voidloss – Please Show me the beauty
Jorg Rodriguez – Theta X
Möd3rn – Zeroclock
Kwartz – Resolution
CW/A – Rapture
FJAAK – Against the clock
TML – U-MX .040
Gaunt – MMRH
Dyspal – Broken Lullaby
Kmyle – Bell Departures
Kastil – Variable Penrose
Planetary Assault System – No exit
Conrad Von Orton – Black Sunday
Kevin de Vries – In a split second ( Under Black Helmet Remix )
Sigha – Strobing
Oyaars – Smaida greizi nakamiba

Author: Ste Knight

Editor at The Waveform Transmitter. Lover of acid basslines, cavernous kick drums, and dark rooms. Cut his teeth to Surgeon's blistering techno assault at T-Funkshun in Liverpool and hasn't stopped for breath since.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.