Waveform 058: Sam Skilz

Our second mix of the week, and the 58th in the series, comes from eminent house producer and DJ, Sam Skilz, who joins us ahead of his October release, After Life. The Waveform Transmitter’s Ste Knight takes a listen, and presents an energetic set for the progressive house-heads.

This is the second time in as many months that we have featured Sam Skilz on our pages. His high-octane single, Underworld, graced our last Editor Selects column, and with good reason. Big room fayre if ever there was any. You can listen to Underworld, here, and grab yourself a copy of the single, here.

Since then, Luxembourg-based Sam has been busy in the studio whipping up a storm with Miss MAD, the result of which is the equally invigorating progressive house excursion. After Life is released on October 4th, and represents a euphoria-loaded take on the sound, expertly melding together elements of techno and house to tremendous effect.

The Ga Ga Records label head and his right hand woman open the track with some punchy percussion, before a beautiful arpeggiating synth enters the fray, liberating dopemine as it rises in intensity. Taking us up to the break at the mid-point, the kicks drop out and segue in some lush string pads, before we are flung straight back into the mix by a shimmering, echoed stab that whirs around the soundscape.

This is another fantastic release from Sam, bolstered by the expertise of Miss MAD, and we are looking forward to what the pair create next time their minds meet in such a momentous fashion.

Sam‘s Waveform Mix explores equally euphoric terrain, as we are treated to an array of tracks from prominent artists such as Maksim Dark and George Acosta. Perfect pre-party fodder – get this one on loud and kickstart your weekend with some serious vibin’. Tracklist below.

Love what we do? Then please consider making a small donation to The Waveform Transmitter and help us to keep things moving in the right direction. Hit the DONATE button below – every penny helps keep us alive. Thank you!

01- Sam Skilz – Underworld (Original)
02- Maksim Dark – Anna (Original)
03- Horisone – Time (Club Mix)
04- Betoko, Balcazar – Somniak (Original)
05- Andrey Exx, Airsand – Losing My Mind
06- sEEn Vybe – Not Gonna Fight U (Original)
07- Miss Monique, Supacooks – No Way (Supacooks Remix)
08- Quivver, Cristoph – In Name Only (Moonwalk Remix)
09- George Acosta – Rushing (2019)
10- Lunar Plane – Imperium (Original)
11- Moonwalk – Endless (Original)
12- Laera & Joe Impero – Brave Time

Author: Ste Knight

Editor at The Waveform Transmitter. Lover of acid basslines, cavernous kick drums, and dark rooms. Cut his teeth to Surgeon's blistering techno assault at T-Funkshun in Liverpool and hasn't stopped for breath since.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.